The original Tourtellotte Memorial High School building, which exists today as administrative offices for the school system, was built in the Greek Revival style. The conerstone was laid in 1907 and the school opened in 1909. The school is named in memory of Dr. Jacob F. Tourtellotte, who was a ships surgeon in the U.S. Navy during the Civil War. The school also houses a small museum, called the “Memorial Room” which contains portraits of Tourtellotte and his family and some of their possessions. It is maintained by the local historical society, and is usually open to the public for tours one Sunday per month.
Bass fishermen love this 200 acre lake created by impounding the Quinnebaug River. The seasonal campground offers some sites with water and electricity. The 18-hole disc golf course is very popular. Hiking trails, boating, canoeing, restrooms with showers, and group picnic shelters are included in the ammenities. Interpretive programs. Snowmobile use is permitted in winter.
Visiting northeastern CT? Visit winyradio.com first for the most complete listing of area events.
Kleen Escape Adventures is a family owned and operated escape room located right over the frog bridge in Willimantic Connecticut. As we explored escape rooms all around the country we decided that the quiet corner needed to experience this phenomenon! This is how Kleen Escape Adventures was born.